Khan should make Tebow a Jaguar

There are dozens of good reasons why Tim Tebow shouldn’t be playing quarterback in the NFL. You have heard them before and I don’t plan to relist them. Throwing all of them aside, I think there are two good reasons why Jacksonville Jaguars’ owner, Shad Khan, should sign Tebow. And I think they trump the reasons to the contrary.

First and foremost, the Jaguars seem to be in real danger of going winless this year. If you accept that premise, then there’s no real downside to losing with Tebow instead of losing with Blaine Gabbert or Chad Henne. Which leads me to my second reason. Tebow will put fans in the seats at Everbank Field.

Some Jaguar fans might remember when former owner, Wayne Weaver, dismissed Head Coach Tom Coughlin. At the time a coach by the name of Steven Orr Spurrier was unemployed and available. Instead we got Dolores Del Rio’s little boy, Jack. I know that Dolores and Jack are not related but I couldn’t help myself. Shortly afterwards, the ole ball coach was hired by the Washington Redskins where his tenure was mediocre at best. But does anyone dispute he could have done as well as Del Rio did in Jacksonville while negating the need to cover up several thousand seats that would otherwise go unsold and result in local television blackouts?

I won’t make this any more complicated than needed. And if you disagree with me, fine. I have no problem with that. But the Jaguars are a train wreck in need of a shot in the arm. Tebow could provide that boost. Sign him, Mr. Khan.Tebow-Jaguar

Leave a comment

Filed under Combination

Leave a comment